# NewAir AWR-290DB vs. NWC028SS01: 29 or 28 bottles, very different fit

- Canonical URL: https://chillshelf.com/guides/newair-awr-290db-vs-nwc028ss01/
- Type: Research-based comparison
- Byline: ChillShelf editorial. Published by Charles McQuain.
- Published: 2026-11-02
- Updated: 2026-11-03
- How this was made: Drafted with AI, based on the documents listed under Sources, not hands-on testing. Figures were checked against those sources. A person hasn't yet reviewed this article.
- Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links, marked beside each button. If you buy through one, ChillShelf may earn a commission. Commissions don’t decide what we recommend.

The AWR-290DB is for a narrow slot, if NewAir confirms the clearances for your setup. The NWC028SS01 is for open floor space, where it needs 5 inches at the back and each side. Their capacity is nearly the same, so choose by where the fridge will go.

We haven't handled either fridge. This comparison comes only from NewAir's manuals and product pages, and we point out where those documents disagree.

[Amazon product page and specifications](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M17271K).

[Amazon product page and specifications](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B087WGFBMS).

## The difference that matters most

On paper these look alike: compressor cooling, two zones, 28 or 29 bottles, 90 W. They need very different amounts of room.

| Space needed                     | AWR-290DB                         | NWC028SS01 |
| -------------------------------- | --------------------------------- | ---------- |
| Listed width                     | 14.80 in                          | 18.90 in   |
| Width with stated side clearance | Not stated by NewAir              | 28.90 in   |
| Listed depth                     | 22.60 in, or 24.25 in with handle | 16.93 in   |
| Depth with stated back clearance | Not stated by NewAir              | 21.93 in   |
| Height                           | 33.75 in                          | 33.46 in   |

The NWC028SS01 totals are our arithmetic, adding 5 inches for each side and the back. Note that the narrow fridge is the deeper one, so check the depth of your slot as well as the width.

## Full comparison

| Check                               | NewAir AWR-290DB                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | NewAir NWC028SS01                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         |
| ----------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Exterior size (W × D × H)           | 14.80 in × 22.60 in (24.25 in with handle) × 33.75 in. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                | 18.90 in × 16.93 in × 33.46 in. From the product page. The manual lists no exterior size, and neither document says whether a handle is included. Source: [28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator (NWC028SS01) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-28-bottle-stainless-steel-dual-zone-freestanding-wine-refrigerator).                                                                                                                                                                                                      |
| Weight                              | 79 lb (manual); 70 lb (product page). The two NewAir documents disagree. Plan the move around the heavier figure. The manual lists a 94 lb shipping weight. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), [29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator (AWR-290DB) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator).                                                                                                                         | 62.17 lb. Source: [28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator (NWC028SS01) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-28-bottle-stainless-steel-dual-zone-freestanding-wine-refrigerator).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              |
| Installation the documents describe | Sold as built-in or stand-alone. The manual is titled “15” Built-in” and says never to install or operate it behind closed doors. The product page describes front venting and says it can slide into base cabinets. The manual requires the front kick-plate to stay unobstructed. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), [29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator (AWR-290DB) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator). | “Designed for free-standing installation only”. Do not build it into cabinetry. The manual also says not to install it behind a cabinet door or block the base grille. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Stated clearances                   | No numeric side, top or back clearance found. Ask NewAir for the cutout and clearances in writing before building it in.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         | 5 in at the back and each side. That makes the space needed at least 28.90 in wide and 21.93 in deep (ChillShelf calculation). No top clearance is stated. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    |
| Door and shelf access               | Door-opening clearance and door reversal are not covered. Five removable racks are listed. The manual covers fitting the handle, which adds 1.65 in to the depth. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), [29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator (AWR-290DB) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator).                                                                                                                   | Door-opening clearance and door reversal are not covered. Shelves lift and pull out. The product page lists five removable metal racks. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       |
| Rated capacity and its assumption   | 29 “standard wine bottles”; 3.2 cu ft. NewAir doesn’t define “standard” for this model or say how the 29 split between zones. Treat 29 as a maximum. Source: [29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator (AWR-290DB) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator), [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                | 28 bottles; 2.86 cu ft. No bottle shape is stated, and the product page description also calls it a 27-bottle fridge. Treat 28 as a maximum. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  |
| Temperature range by zone           | Upper 40–50°F; lower 50–66°F. The product page text says 40–55°F for the upper zone. ChillShelf uses the manual. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      | Upper 41–54°F; lower 54–64°F. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| Room temperature limits             | No numeric room-temperature range found. The warranty excludes abnormal conditions such as extreme temperatures.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | Recommended 64–100°F. A general safety note elsewhere in the manual says above 50°F, but the installation and operating sections both use 64°F. ChillShelf plans around 64°F. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| Where it may be used                | “Household, office and similar environments.” No outdoor rating found. The product page also mentions garages and commercial use, but the warranty excludes commercial use. Ask before relying on either. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             | Indoors only. “Do not store or install the appliance outdoors”. Avoid moist areas. For beverages and drinks, not perishable food or medicine. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 |
| Electrical                          | 110–120 V, 1.2 A, 60 Hz, 90 W. Grounded outlet; never an extension cord. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              | 110–120 V, 60 Hz, 90 W. Its own grounded outlet on a 15 A fuse or breaker. The manual strongly recommends against an extension cord and recommends a separate circuit. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |
| Noise                               | No dB figure found. The product page calls it “quiet” without a measurement, so ChillShelf makes no noise claim.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 | 43 dB, as printed by the manufacturer. No test distance or conditions are given, so this isn’t a measured comparison. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         |
| Annual energy use                   | No annual kWh figure found. 90 W is a power rating, not annual use.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              | No annual kWh figure found. 90 W is a power rating, not annual use.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       |
| Warranty                            | 1 year parts (manual); 2 years (NewAir warranty page). NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on the longer one. Source: [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), [Newair warranty information](https://www.newair.com/pages/warranty).                                                                         | 1 year parts (manual); 2 years (NewAir warranty page). NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on the longer one. Source: [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), [Newair warranty information](https://www.newair.com/pages/warranty). |

## Choose the AWR-290DB if

- You have a slot about 15 inches wide, and enough depth for the handle.
- You can keep the front kick-plate clear, and you won't close it behind a cabinet door.
- You want the wider lower-zone range, which reaches 66°F.

Before you buy, ask NewAir for the numeric clearances. We didn't find any in this manual. Also confirm which SKU you're getting. NewAir's page opens on the recessed-kickplate version (NWC029SS01), and on November 3, 2026, it showed the non-recessed AWR-290DB as sold out. This comparison covers only the non-recessed AWR-290DB, so check the recessed version's documents if you're offered that instead.

[Amazon product page and specifications](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M17271K).

## Choose the NWC028SS01 if

- You have floor space with at least about 29 inches of width for the fridge and its air gaps.
- You need a shallower cabinet. Its listed depth is 16.93 inches, before the 5-inch back clearance.
- The room stays between 64°F and 100°F, which is the range its manual recommends.

Don't choose it for a cabinet or under-counter slot. Its manual says it's designed for free-standing installation only.

[Amazon product page and specifications](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B087WGFBMS).

## Temperature zones

The zone limits differ by a few degrees, which matters if you have a specific setting in mind.

The upper zone runs 40–50°F on the AWR-290DB and 41–54°F on the NWC028SS01. The lower zone runs 50–66°F and 54–64°F. Purdue Extension gives [50–60°F for long-term storage](https://www.extension.purdue.edu/extmedia/fs/fs-58-w.pdf). The AWR-290DB's lower zone covers all of that range, and the NWC028SS01's lower zone covers 54–60°F of it. Only the AWR-290DB's lower zone goes above 64°F.

If you want the two zones at one temperature, you can't quite do it. On the AWR-290DB they meet only at 50°F, and on the NWC028SS01 only at 54°F. If you want one steady temperature, our [single or dual-zone guide](https://chillshelf.com/guides/single-vs-dual-zone-wine-fridges/) explains why single-zone may suit you better.

## Where NewAir's documents disagree

These are worth knowing before you order, because each could change a decision.

- **AWR-290DB weight.** The [manual](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232) says 79 lb. The [product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator) says 70 lb.
- **AWR-290DB upper zone.** The manual says 40–50°F. The product page description says 40–55°F.
- **AWR-290DB location.** The product page mentions commercial use and garages. The manual says it's for household, office and similar environments, and the warranty excludes commercial use.
- **NWC028SS01 capacity.** The [manual](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232) says 28 bottles. The [product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-28-bottle-stainless-steel-dual-zone-freestanding-wine-refrigerator) description also calls it a 27-bottle fridge.
- **NWC028SS01 room temperature.** One safety note says above 50°F. The installation and operating sections say 64°F, which is the figure we use.
- **Warranty on both.** Both manuals say one year. [NewAir's warranty page](https://www.newair.com/pages/warranty) says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, unless the product's manual states otherwise. Ask which term applies and keep the answer.

## What we can't tell you

We don't know how quiet either fridge is in a room, how steady its temperature is, or what it costs to run. NewAir prints 43 dB for the NWC028SS01 without test conditions, gives no figure for the AWR-290DB, and gives no annual kWh figure for either. Real bottle counts will also vary with bottle shape. Our guide to [choosing a fridge](https://chillshelf.com/guides/choosing-a-wine-or-beverage-fridge/) explains how to treat those numbers.

Measure your space with our [measuring guide](https://chillshelf.com/guides/measure-before-you-buy/) before you decide.

## Sources

- [AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/AWR-290DB_Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), NewAir. Accessed November 2, 2026.
- [29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator (AWR-290DB) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-29-bottle-stainless-steel-built-in-dual-zone-wine-refrigerator), NewAir. Accessed November 2, 2026.
- [NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0](https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0066/7595/5769/files/NWC028SS01Trilingual_Product_Manual_v1.0.pdf?v=1633638232), NewAir. Accessed November 2, 2026.
- [28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator (NWC028SS01) product page](https://www.newair.com/products/newair-28-bottle-stainless-steel-dual-zone-freestanding-wine-refrigerator), NewAir. Accessed November 2, 2026.
- [Newair warranty information](https://www.newair.com/pages/warranty), NewAir. Accessed November 2, 2026.
- [Commercial Winemaking Production Series: Wine Storage Guidelines (FS-58-W), by Christian Butzke](https://www.extension.purdue.edu/extmedia/fs/fs-58-w.pdf), Purdue Extension. Accessed November 2, 2026.
