Comparison

NewAir AB-1200 vs. ABR-960: 126 cans freestanding, or 96 in a 15-inch slot

The AB-1200 is rated for more cans and suits open floor space, where it needs about 20.40 inches of width and depth. The ABR-960 fits a 15-inch slot, but its manual gives no clearance figures, so get those from NewAir before you plan a built-in.

This article contains affiliate links, marked beside each button. If you buy through one, ChillShelf may earn a commission. Commissions don’t decide what we recommend. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Seen from above, to scale. Door side at the bottom.ABR-960AB-120014.80 × 22.60 in24.25 in deep with handleNo clearances in manual18.90 × 18.40 in20.40 × 20.40 in with gaps¾ in sides, 2 in back
The two fridges drawn to the same scale from NewAir's documents. The AB-1200 total with air gaps is our arithmetic, and the drawing doesn't show either fridge's actual appearance.

We haven’t handled either fridge. This comparison comes only from NewAir’s manuals and product pages, and we point out where those documents disagree.

For open floor space

NewAir AB-1200

126 cans; 3.4 cu ft

Listed at $339.99 on . Confirm the current price with NewAir.

View specifications on NewAir (opens in a new tab)

For a 15-inch slot

NewAir ABR-960

96 standard cans; 3.2 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)

The difference that matters most

The AB-1200 is rated for 30 more cans, but its manual rules out the place many people want a drinks fridge: inside a run of cabinets. The ABR-960 is sold for that spot, and its manual leaves out the clearance figures you’d use to plan it.

Space neededAB-1200ABR-960
Listed width18.90 in14.80 in
Width with stated side clearance20.40 inNot stated in the manual
Listed depth18.40 in22.60 in, or 24.25 in with handle
Depth with stated back clearance20.40 inNot stated in the manual
Listed height32.40 in, or 33.00 in with hinge33.75 in
Height with stated top clearance37.00 in, counting the hingeNot stated in the manual

The AB-1200 totals are our arithmetic, adding ¾ inch for each side, 2 inches for the back and 4 inches for the top. Note that the narrower fridge is the deeper one, so check the depth of your slot as well as the width.

Full comparison

NewAir AB-1200 and ABR-960 compared, using manufacturer documents. Figures are manufacturer claims, not ChillShelf measurements.
Check before buyingNewAir AB-1200NewAir ABR-960
Exterior size (W × D × H)18.90 in × 18.40 in × 32.40 in; 33.00 in high with hingeWidth × depth × height, from the product page. The manual lists no exterior size, and neither document says whether the depth includes the handle.Manufacturer page: 126-Can Compact Beverage Fridge14.80 in × 22.60 in × 33.75 in; 24.25 in deep with handleWidth × depth × height, from the product page. The manual says 14.8 in × 22.4 in × 33.9 in. Plan around the larger figures.Manufacturer page: 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge, ABR-960 product manual v1.3
Weight62.85 lbManufacturer page: 126-Can Compact Beverage Fridge76 lbManufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Installation the documents describeFreestanding. “Should not be built into surrounding cabinetry”The manual also says never to install or operate it inside cabinets or without proper clearances.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3Built-in or stand-alone, per the product pageThe manual refers to a built-in structure and says to keep ventilation openings clear. It also says to keep the front kick-plate free of obstruction and never to operate the unit behind closed doors.Manufacturer page: 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge, ABR-960 product manual v1.3
Stated clearances¾ in at the sides, 2 in at the back, 4 in on topWith the page’s listed size, that makes the space needed about 20.40 in wide, 20.40 in deep and 37.00 in high, counting the hinge (ChillShelf calculation).Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3No figures in the manualReplies in the product page’s Q&A conflict: one says 0.25 in at the sides and back, another says 2.5 in at each side. Ask NewAir in writing for your setup.Checked: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Door and shelf accessReversible door; 5 shelvesThe manual gives door-reversal steps and lists 5 shelves. The product page lists 5 racks in its specifications, but its description says 3 removable shelves. Door-opening clearance isn’t covered. The page says the door doesn’t lock.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3, 126-Can Compact Beverage FridgeDoor lock; 5 racks. Door reversal isn’t covered in the manualThe manual’s parts list shows a lock and a right upper hinge. A NewAir reply in the product page’s Q&A says the door isn’t reversible. The page says the shelves adjust and lists 5 racks.Manufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Rated capacity and its assumption126 cans; 3.4 cu ftNo can size is stated. The manual says not to overfill it or pack drinks too tightly, so treat 126 as a maximum.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3, 126-Can Compact Beverage Fridge96 standard cans; 3.2 cu ftThe can count comes from the manual’s cover and the product page, and no can size is given. The page calls this eight six-packs, but 96 cans is 16.Manufacturer page: 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge, ABR-960 product manual v1.3
Temperature range by zoneOne zone, 37–65°FA dial from 1 (warmest) to 7 (coldest), with 0 as off. The product page says there’s no digital temperature readout.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3One zone, 36–66°FDigital controls in 1-degree steps. The product page says 37–66°F.Manufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Room temperature limitsNo room temperature range statedThe manual says extreme cold or hot ambient temperatures may prevent proper performance, without giving figures.Checked: AB-1200 product manual v1.3No room temperature range statedThe manual lists climate class T/ST/N/SN without explaining it, and the warranty excludes extreme temperatures.Checked: ABR-960 product manual v1.3
Where it may be usedNot stated in the manual. Avoid direct sunlight, heat sources and excessive moistureThe product page lists bars, rec rooms, dorm rooms or garages. The manual doesn’t mention garages, and the warranty excludes commercial use and extreme temperatures. The manual says not to store perishable food.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3, 126-Can Compact Beverage Fridge“Household, office and similar environments”The product page calls it “ideal for commercial & home use,” but the manual’s warranty excludes commercial use. Avoid excessively moist or humid places.Manufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Electrical110–120 V, 60 Hz, 85 W, 1.3 A. Never use an extension cordManufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3110–120 V, 60 Hz, 90 W, 1.2 A. Never use an extension cordManufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3
Noise35 dB, as printed by the manufacturerNo test distance or conditions are given, so this isn’t a measured comparison.Manufacturer page: 126-Can Compact Beverage FridgeNo dB figure foundThe product page calls it quiet without giving a figure.Checked: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Annual energy useNo annual kWh figure found85 W is a power rating, not annual use.Checked: AB-1200 product manual v1.3, 126-Can Compact Beverage FridgeNo annual kWh figure found90 W is a power rating, not annual use.Checked: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge
Warranty1 year (manual); 2 years (product and warranty pages)NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. The product page says “2-Year Warranty Included.” NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on it, especially if you buy from another seller.Manufacturer manual: AB-1200 product manual v1.3, 126-Can Compact Beverage Fridge, Newair warranty information1 year (manual); 2 years (product and warranty pages)NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. The product page says “2-Year Warranty Included.” NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on it, especially if you buy from another seller.Manufacturer manual: ABR-960 product manual v1.3, 96-Can Built-In Stainless Steel Beverage Fridge, Newair warranty information

Choose the AB-1200 if

  • You have floor space about 20.40 inches wide and deep, with about 37 inches of height.
  • You want the higher can rating, and you’re happy with a dial from 1 to 7 instead of a digital readout.
  • You may need to swap the door’s swing. Its manual gives the steps.

Don’t choose it for a cabinet or under-counter slot. Its manual says it “should not be built into surrounding cabinetry.” The product page also says its door doesn’t lock.

NewAir AB-1200

126 cans; 3.4 cu ft

Listed at $339.99 on . Confirm the current price with NewAir.

View specifications on NewAir (opens in a new tab)

Choose the ABR-960 if

  • You have a slot about 15 inches wide, with enough depth for the handle.
  • You can keep the front kick-plate clear, and you won’t close it behind a cabinet door.
  • You want a digital display with 1-degree steps, or a door lock.

Before you buy, ask NewAir for the clearances, because its manual gives no figures. Check the hinge side as well. The manual doesn’t cover door reversal, and a NewAir reply on the product page says the door isn’t reversible.

NewAir ABR-960

96 standard cans; 3.2 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)

How the can ratings compare

NewAir rates the AB-1200 for 126 cans in 3.4 cubic feet, and the ABR-960 for 96 in 3.2 cubic feet. Neither document gives a can size. The AB-1200 manual also tells you not to overfill the fridge or pack drinks too tightly, so plan for fewer than the rating. Our can-capacity guide shows how to work out your own number.

Where NewAir’s documents disagree

These are worth knowing before you order, because each could change a decision.

  • ABR-960 clearances. Replies on the product page conflict. One says 0.25 inch at the sides and back, and another says 2.5 inches at each side. Get an answer in writing for your setup.
  • ABR-960 size. The manual says 14.8 × 22.4 × 33.9 inches. The product page says 14.80 × 22.60 × 33.75 inches, or 24.25 inches deep with the handle.
  • ABR-960 lowest setting. The manual says 36°F. The product page says 37°F.
  • ABR-960 six-packs. The product page calls 96 cans eight six-packs. By our math, it’s 16.
  • AB-1200 shelves. The manual and the page’s specifications list 5. The page’s description says 3 removable shelves.
  • AB-1200 food. The product page suggests lunches and leftovers. The manual says not to store perishable food, because the temperature may not be low enough to prevent spoilage.
  • AB-1200 garages. The product page lists garages. The manual doesn’t mention them, and it warns that extreme cold or hot room temperatures may prevent proper performance.
  • Commercial use on both. Both product pages say “ideal for commercial & home use.” Both manuals exclude commercial use from the warranty.
  • Warranty on both. Both manuals say one year. Both product pages say two years, and NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, unless the product’s manual states otherwise. Ask which term applies, especially if you buy from another seller.

What we can’t tell you

We don’t know how quiet either fridge is in a room, how steady its temperature is, or what it costs to run. NewAir prints 35 dB for the AB-1200 without test conditions, gives no figure for the ABR-960, and gives no annual kWh figure for either. Neither manual states a safe room temperature range.

Measure your space with our measuring guide before you decide.

Sources

Drafted with AI, based on the documents listed under Sources, not hands-on testing. Figures were checked against those sources. A person hasn't yet reviewed this article. How we work.

ChillShelf editorial is the byline for ChillShelf's research-based guides. ChillShelf is owned and published by Charles McQuain.