Comparison

NewAir AWR-290DB vs. NWC028SS01: 29 or 28 bottles, very different fit

The AWR-290DB is for a narrow slot, if NewAir confirms the clearances for your setup. The NWC028SS01 is for open floor space, where it needs 5 inches at the back and each side. Their capacity is nearly the same, so choose by where the fridge will go.

This article contains affiliate links, marked beside each button. If you buy through one, ChillShelf may earn a commission. Commissions don’t decide what we recommend. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Seen from above, to scale. Door side at the bottom.AWR-290DBNWC028SS015 in air gap14.80 × 22.60 in24.25 in deep with handleClearances not stated18.90 × 16.93 in28.90 × 21.93 in with gapsBack and each side
The two fridges drawn to the same scale from NewAir's documents. The totals with air gaps are our arithmetic, and the drawing doesn't show either fridge's actual appearance.

We haven’t handled either fridge. This comparison comes only from NewAir’s manuals and product pages, and we point out where those documents disagree.

NewAir AWR-290DB stainless steel wine fridge with a non-recessed front kickplate
Photo: NewAir

For a narrow slot

NewAir AWR-290DB

29 “standard wine bottles”; 3.2 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)
NewAir NWC028SS01 stainless steel freestanding wine fridge with glass door and wire racks
Photo: NewAir

For open floor space

NewAir NWC028SS01

28 bottles; 2.86 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)

The difference that matters most

On paper these look alike: compressor cooling, two zones, 28 or 29 bottles, 90 W. They need very different amounts of room.

Space neededAWR-290DBNWC028SS01
Listed width14.80 in18.90 in
Width with stated side clearanceNot stated by NewAir28.90 in
Listed depth22.60 in, or 24.25 in with handle16.93 in
Depth with stated back clearanceNot stated by NewAir21.93 in
Height33.75 in33.46 in

The NWC028SS01 totals are our arithmetic, adding 5 inches for each side and the back. Note that the narrow fridge is the deeper one, so check the depth of your slot as well as the width.

Full comparison

NewAir AWR-290DB and NWC028SS01 compared, using manufacturer documents. Figures are manufacturer claims, not ChillShelf measurements.
Check before buyingNewAir AWR-290DBNewAir NWC028SS01
Exterior size (W × D × H)14.80 in × 22.60 in (24.25 in with handle) × 33.75 inManufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.018.90 in × 16.93 in × 33.46 inFrom the product page. The manual lists no exterior size, and neither document says whether a handle is included.Manufacturer page: 28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator
Weight79 lb (manual); 70 lb (product page)The two NewAir documents disagree. Plan the move around the heavier figure. The manual lists a 94 lb shipping weight.Manufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator62.17 lbManufacturer page: 28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator
Installation the documents describeSold as built-in or stand-alone. The manual is titled “15” Built-in” and says never to install or operate it behind closed doorsThe product page describes front venting and says it can slide into base cabinets. The manual requires the front kick-plate to stay unobstructed.Manufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator“Designed for free-standing installation only”Do not build it into cabinetry. The manual also says not to install it behind a cabinet door or block the base grille.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Stated clearancesNo numeric side, top or back clearance foundAsk NewAir for the cutout and clearances in writing before building it in.Checked: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.05 in at the back and each sideThat makes the space needed at least 28.90 in wide and 21.93 in deep (ChillShelf calculation). No top clearance is stated.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Door and shelf accessDoor-opening clearance and door reversal are not covered. Five removable racks are listedThe manual covers fitting the handle, which adds 1.65 in to the depth.Manufacturer page: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine RefrigeratorDoor-opening clearance and door reversal are not covered. Shelves lift and pull outThe product page lists five removable metal racks.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Rated capacity and its assumption29 “standard wine bottles”; 3.2 cu ftNewAir doesn’t define “standard” for this model or say how the 29 split between zones. Treat 29 as a maximum.Manufacturer page: 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator, AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.028 bottles; 2.86 cu ftNo bottle shape is stated, and the product page description also calls it a 27-bottle fridge. Treat 28 as a maximum.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Temperature range by zoneUpper 40–50°F; lower 50–66°FThe product page text says 40–55°F for the upper zone. ChillShelf uses the manual.Manufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0Upper 41–54°F; lower 54–64°FManufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Room temperature limitsNo numeric room-temperature range foundThe warranty excludes abnormal conditions such as extreme temperatures.Checked: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0Recommended 64–100°FA general safety note elsewhere in the manual says above 50°F, but the installation and operating sections both use 64°F. ChillShelf plans around 64°F.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Where it may be used“Household, office and similar environments.” No outdoor rating foundThe product page also mentions garages and commercial use, but the warranty excludes commercial use. Ask before relying on either.Manufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0Indoors only. “Do not store or install the appliance outdoors”Avoid moist areas. For beverages and drinks, not perishable food or medicine.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Electrical110–120 V, 1.2 A, 60 Hz, 90 W. Grounded outlet; never an extension cordManufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0110–120 V, 60 Hz, 90 W. Its own grounded outlet on a 15 A fuse or breakerThe manual strongly recommends against an extension cord and recommends a separate circuit.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
NoiseNo dB figure foundThe product page calls it “quiet” without a measurement, so ChillShelf makes no noise claim.Checked: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine Refrigerator43 dB, as printed by the manufacturerNo test distance or conditions are given, so this isn’t a measured comparison.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0
Annual energy useNo annual kWh figure found90 W is a power rating, not annual use.Checked: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, 29-Bottle Built-In Dual-Zone Wine RefrigeratorNo annual kWh figure found90 W is a power rating, not annual use.Checked: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0, 28-Bottle Dual-Zone Freestanding Wine Refrigerator
Warranty1 year parts (manual); 2 years (NewAir warranty page)NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on the longer one.Manufacturer manual: AWR-290DB owner’s manual v1.0, Newair warranty information1 year parts (manual); 2 years (NewAir warranty page)NewAir’s manual says one year of parts coverage from purchase. NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, “unless otherwise stated in your product’s manual.” Get the term in writing before you rely on the longer one.Manufacturer manual: NWC028SS01 owner’s manual v1.0, Newair warranty information

Choose the AWR-290DB if

  • You have a slot about 15 inches wide, and enough depth for the handle.
  • You can keep the front kick-plate clear, and you won’t close it behind a cabinet door.
  • You want the wider lower-zone range, which reaches 66°F.

Before you buy, ask NewAir for the numeric clearances. We didn’t find any in this manual. Also confirm which SKU you’re getting. NewAir’s page opens on the recessed-kickplate version (NWC029SS01), and on November 3, 2026, it showed the non-recessed AWR-290DB as sold out. This comparison covers only the non-recessed AWR-290DB, so check the recessed version’s documents if you’re offered that instead.

NewAir AWR-290DB stainless steel wine fridge with a non-recessed front kickplate
Photo: NewAir

NewAir AWR-290DB

29 “standard wine bottles”; 3.2 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Choose the NWC028SS01 if

  • You have floor space with at least about 29 inches of width for the fridge and its air gaps.
  • You need a shallower cabinet. Its listed depth is 16.93 inches, before the 5-inch back clearance.
  • The room stays between 64°F and 100°F, which is the range its manual recommends.

Don’t choose it for a cabinet or under-counter slot. Its manual says it’s designed for free-standing installation only.

NewAir NWC028SS01 stainless steel freestanding wine fridge with glass door and wire racks
Photo: NewAir

NewAir NWC028SS01

28 bottles; 2.86 cu ft

Affiliate link: ChillShelf may earn a commission.

Check price at Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Temperature zones

The zone limits differ by a few degrees, which matters if you have a specific setting in mind.

The upper zone runs 40–50°F on the AWR-290DB and 41–54°F on the NWC028SS01. The lower zone runs 50–66°F and 54–64°F. Purdue Extension gives 50–60°F for long-term storage. The AWR-290DB’s lower zone covers all of that range, and the NWC028SS01’s lower zone covers 54–60°F of it. Only the AWR-290DB’s lower zone goes above 64°F.

If you want the two zones at one temperature, you can’t quite do it. On the AWR-290DB they meet only at 50°F, and on the NWC028SS01 only at 54°F. If you want one steady temperature, our single or dual-zone guide explains why single-zone may suit you better.

Where NewAir’s documents disagree

These are worth knowing before you order, because each could change a decision.

  • AWR-290DB weight. The manual says 79 lb. The product page says 70 lb.
  • AWR-290DB upper zone. The manual says 40–50°F. The product page description says 40–55°F.
  • AWR-290DB location. The product page mentions commercial use and garages. The manual says it’s for household, office and similar environments, and the warranty excludes commercial use.
  • NWC028SS01 capacity. The manual says 28 bottles. The product page description also calls it a 27-bottle fridge.
  • NWC028SS01 room temperature. One safety note says above 50°F. The installation and operating sections say 64°F, which is the figure we use.
  • Warranty on both. Both manuals say one year. NewAir’s warranty page says two years for purchases on or after November 12, 2025, unless the product’s manual states otherwise. Ask which term applies and keep the answer.

What we can’t tell you

We don’t know how quiet either fridge is in a room, how steady its temperature is, or what it costs to run. NewAir prints 43 dB for the NWC028SS01 without test conditions, gives no figure for the AWR-290DB, and gives no annual kWh figure for either. Real bottle counts will also vary with bottle shape. Our guide to choosing a fridge explains how to treat those numbers.

Measure your space with our measuring guide before you decide.

Sources

Drafted with AI, based on the documents listed under Sources, not hands-on testing. Figures were checked against those sources. A person hasn't yet reviewed this article. How we work.

ChillShelf editorial is the byline for ChillShelf's research-based guides. ChillShelf is owned and published by Charles McQuain.